Top Ten Books to Read in 2015

“Scars are memory. Like sutures. They stitch the past to me.”

China Mieville

  1. The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two – Catherynne M. Valente. This is already on my TBR pile and I cannot wait.
  2. Un Lun Dun – China Mieville. I think I may be obsessed with China Mieville at the moment.
  3. The Midnight Mayor – Kate Griffin. The sequel to A Madness of Angels, one of last year’s Top Ten Books. I love Griffin’s magic system, and her ragged, energetic prose, and I can’t wait to go back to it.
  4. Station Eleven – Emily St John Mandel. This keeps cropping up on best-of-2014 lists, and it sounds right up my street: literary apocalyptic SF? Yes please!
  5. The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion. Not what I usually read, but again it seems to have good reviews, and it sounds cute.
  6. John Dies At The End – David Wong. This has vaguely been on my radar for some time; it’s a sort-of cult horror spoof novel, and it looks a) hilarious and b) quite clever. Hopefully.
  7. The Magicians – Lev Grossman. Apparently it’s like a grown-up Harry Potter.  A GROWN UP HARRY POTTER. 
  8. Spirits Abroad – Zen Cho. Another inhabitant of the best-of lists, and one that sounds quite intriguing: short stories with slanty fantastical twists. I don’t read enough short stories, so maybe this is a good place to start?
  9. The Three-Body Problem – Liu Cixin. PUZZLES. SCARY BUGGY COMPUTER GAMES. Do I need to say anything more? NO.
  10. Ancillary Justice – Ann Leckie. Everyone is talking about this one. There must be something good about it, right?

(The theme for this post was suggested by the Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday.)

Leave a Reply

