Top Ten Books I Would Like Santa To Bring

“A heart can grab hold of old wounds and go sour as milk over them.”

Catherynne M. Valente

It’s never too early for Christmas lists.

Oh, gods, there are SO MANY BOOKS.

  1. The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two – Catherynne M. Valente. I’ve heard that this one isn’t as good as the first two, but Fairyland and Catherynne Valente – it can’t be all bad, can it?
  2. The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell. Still haven’t got around to buying this and it looks, like, freakishly good.
  3. Station Eleven – Emily St. John Mandel. I’m always looking out for SF with a difference, and this is apparently a literary SF apocalypse novel that’s supposed to be quite good? Intriguing, anyway.
  4. The Scar – China Mieville. A follow-up to Perdido Street Station? YES PLEASE.
  5. Scarlet – Marissa Meyer. I really want to know what happens to Cinder. Plus, if Santa brings it I won’t have to venture into the YA bit at Waterstones.
  6. Nicholas Nickelby – Charles Dickens. I never buy Dickens, because there are so many shinier books around; but at the same time I do want to read more of his novels. At least if Santa gives it to me I have to read it.
  7. Preludes and Nocturnes – Neil Gaiman. I still haven’t got around to reading the Sandman graphic novels, but they’re fairly expensive so I can’t really justify buying them for myself.
  8. The Midnight Mayor – Kate Griffin. I loved A Madness of Angels; hopefully the sequel will be just as awesome.
  9. Soul Music – Terry Pratchett. But the nice new linen covered hardback edition.
  10. Under the Dome – Stephen King. What is non-Dark Tower King like? I don’t know, and I’d like to find out.

(The theme for this post was suggested by the Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday.)

Leave a Reply

