Top Ten Books I Want To Read Next Year

“We be light, we be life, we be fire! We sing electric flame, we rumble underground wind, we dance heaven! Come be we and be free!”

Kate Griffin

OK, hopefully these will all be books released next year and not just books I haven’t read yet but should. We’ll see how it goes.

  1. Terry Pratchett. Let’s face it, there’s going to be a new Discworld book next year, and it will probably be terrible, but I shall read it out of a sort of misplaced loyalty, because I remember a time when they weren’t terrible. And I shall be ragey. About many things, not least the unfairness of Alzheimer’s.
  2. The sequel to The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger. Is this cheating? No word on when this will be released, but, hey, it could be next year, and I don’t want to be up all night Googling release dates.
  3. China Mieville’s short stories. This is the first book on this list which actually, definitely exists (released in June, apparently), and I know I want to read more Mieville. All the Mieville. 
  4. The Boy Who Lost Fairyland – Catherynne M. Valente. It has a title! I’m getting better at this. And, no, I haven’t yet read The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two. But I WILL.
  5. Phoenix in Shadow – Ryk E. Spoor. The chances that I will actually get around to buying this sequel to Phoenix Rising is quite small, because I don’t use Amazon and I don’t think it’s on sale in the UK. I want to, though, so who knows.
  6. Mechanica – Betsy Cornwell. This looks like it might be sweet and steampunk, so I’ll give it a try.
  7. Inherit Midnight – Kate Kae Myers. Ooh, puzzles. I like puzzles.
  8. To Hold the Bridge – Garth Nix. Another short story collection. I liked Nix’s other book of short stories, Across the Wall, so hopefully this one should be good too? I haven’t read Clariel yet, so I’m looking forward to that as well.
  9. The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell. I’ve given up on 2015 releases because I can’t find any more at the moment. But if I don’t read The Bone Clocks this year, I will next year. I promise.
  10. The Midnight Mayor – Kate Griffin. Ditto, except this one is the sequel to the terrific Madness of Angels

(The theme for this post was suggested by the Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday.)

Leave a Reply

