Top Ten Books I’m Dying to Read

“It is well known that reading quickens the growth of a heart like nothing else.”

Catherynne M. Valente

Not literally dying, obviously.

  1. The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two – Catherynne M. Valente. I love these books: I just can’t get enough of Fairyland.
  2. Shada – Douglas Adams. Because Douglas Adams and Doctor Who in the same place is a whole new level of awesomeness.
  3. The Long Mars – Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. This just came out and I LITERALLY CAN’T WAIT. The Long Earth series is one of the best pieces of world-building I’ve seen in SF.
  4. The Bone Clocks – David Mitchell. Amazon says it is “punctuated by flashes of precognition, visits from people who emerge from thin air and brief lapses in the laws of reality”. There is no way I am not reading this. Unfortunately, it’s not released until September.
  5. Sandman – Neil Gaiman. This is on my Children’s Literature reading list, so I’m looking forward to seeing how it stacks up against the other Gaimans I’ve read. It’ll also be my first graphic novel, so it should be interesting.
  6. How I Live Now – Meg Rosoff. Again, I’ll be reading it for my degree; a nuclear-apocalypse-romance-thing that’s been made into a film, it could either be very good or very bad (a la The 5th Wave).
  7. Fingersmith – Sarah Waters. I’m kind of obsessed with gothic Victorian London stories right now (this is all your fault, Fallen London), and this looks like it might fit right in to that genre.
  8. The Return of the King – J.R.R. Tolkien. This is definitely cheating, given that a) I’ve already read it, and b) I’m in the midst of the Tolkien Reading Marathon right now, but I just love The Return of the King. I’m really looking forward to getting stuck into the trilogy again.
  9. A Madness of Angels – Kate Griffin. Urban fantasy set in modern-day London…with angels. Hopefully this will be like a well-written Neverwhere
  10. Mad About the Boy – Helen Fielding. The Bridget Jones series is my guilty pleasure. I’m waiting for this to come out in paperback because I don’t think I can justify buying chick-lit in hardback. Unfortunately.

(The theme for this post was suggested by the Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday.)

Leave a Reply

