Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read

“Everything in the universe denies nothing; to suggest an ending is the one absurdity.”

Stephen King

  1. The Wind Through the Keyhole – Stephen King. Given my all-abiding and possibly unhealthy obsession with all things Dark Tower, I’m not sure why I didn’t snap up this companion novel as soon as it came out in 2012. Quite possibly because it feels a bit like maybe King is jumping back on the DT bandwagon? Or because it’s a bit extraneous? I don’t know, but it would be nice to see Roland again soon, so this might be next on my to-buy list.
  2. Once Upon a Time in the North – Philip Pullman. Another companion novel that seems to have dropped off my radar without my noticing. It’s apparently about Lee Scoresby and Iorek Byrnison from Northern Lights, so that would be pretty exciting to read.
  3. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen. I’ve read all the other Austens, but I still have literally no idea what goes on in Sense and Sensibility, so it might be a good idea to read it.
  4. The Once and Future King – T.H. White. The classic Arthurian fantasy, as far as I can tell, and I do love me some Arthuriana, so I’m not sure how I missed this.
  5. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley. Classic dystopian novel? Yes please!
  6. Blandings Castle – P.G. Wodehouse. This is slightly cheating, because I’m currently reading another Blandings novel, Leave It To Psmith, which happens to be my first Wodehouse, and it is utterly hilarious and I can’t believe I resisted Wodehouse for so very many years.
  7. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald. Um. This is self-explanatory, I think.
  8. Dune – Frank Herbert. I actually watched some of the film of this over Christmas, which was weird, but quite intriguing. Plus it’s, like, canonical SF, so I feel I should read it.
  9. Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood. I read The Handmaid’s Tale a couple of years ago and found it interesting and scary – she does post-apocalypse quite well, I think, and Oryx and Crake might be similar.
  10. Othello – William Shakespeare. So we’re studying Shakespeare at the moment at University and everyone keeps mentioning Othello as if it’s a thing everyone’s read and I feel like something major is missing from my life.

(The theme for this post was suggested by the Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday.)

Leave a Reply

