Rev: Ep. 5

“This I choose to do. If there is a price, this I choose to pay.”

Terry Pratchett

OK, my friends made me watch this. “It’s really funny”, they said.

They were wrong.

Admittedly, it is hard to review a single, mid-season episode of a show you haven’t ever seen before. (So why am I doing it? you may ask. And the truth of the matter is, I don’t really know.) Rev is, apparently, a sort-of-sitcom about an inner-city vicar whose church is closing down and whose world is kind of tumbling down around his ears, mainly, it appears, because he kissed someone who wasn’t his wife. So, you know, I don’t feel much sympathy for him.

If I were a regular watcher, I can see why this would be a good episode. Though it’s not actually that amusing, it’s quite dark, and sad, and profound, and makes you hate the Church of England just a little bit. (I’m not sure this was the aim of the episode, though.) But, since it’s a series that appears to be ending for ever quite soon, I don’t think I’ll exactly be diving into the world of Rev any time soon.

Leave a Reply

