Top Ten Favourite Covers

In a minute there is time
For decisions and revisions which a minute will reverse.”

T.S. Eliot

  1. Collected Poems 1909-1962 – T.S. Eliot. I love all of the Faber & Faber poetry covers, but the Eliot one is my favourite: it looks just like a brown paper parcel with its simple design.
  2. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde. A terrible book, but its cover, a mock-up of a worn seventies paperback with a car bursting through it, is really cool.
  3. A Study in Scarlet – Arthur Conan Doyle. Again, the vaguely vintage-y feel of this Penguin edition is very appealing.
  4. Night Film – Marisha Pessl. My hardback copy of this fascinating novel really captures that feeling of entrapment, of inward-spiraling circles, that makes the book so damn scary.
  5. By Light Alone – Adam Roberts. I’m not sure why I like this cover so much, but I do. It’s steampunk-y and colourful and abstract and altogether awesome.
  6. The Long War – Terry Pratchett and Stephen Baxter. Airships! Apocalyptic colouring! Mysterious figures walking through a desert fog! Explodey cloud thingies! I don’t think I need to say any more.
  7. Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman. There’s something really promising about the shiny gold rat and the wonky typeface that says “AWESOME URBAN FANTASY”. The fact that this is a lie does not change my admiration for the cover.
  8. The Somnambulist – Essie Fox. I really like the elaborate symmetry of this cover, which is perfect for the Gothic weirdness of its contents.
  9. How Not to Write a Novel – Howard Mittelmark and Sandra Newman. This just makes me laugh. I think it’s the scribbly typeface, with the editorial annotations. And the kitten. Kittens are always a bonus.
  10. The Waste Lands – Stephen King. The older editions, the colourful ones with the Tower taking central stage with an appropriate landscape in the background, are my favourites: they invite you into the book, promising mystery and magic. I was extremely annoyed when they stopped selling the older editions while I was halfway through the series (a thing which happens far too often to me).

(The theme for this post was suggested by The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday.)

Leave a Reply

