Top Ten Childhood Favourites

“Confidence is ignorance. If you’re feeling cocky, it’s because there’s something you don’t know.”

Eoin Colfer

Because I haven’t got the hang of iPlayer Downloads yet (it takes AGES. In future, I shall have to get better at planning posts), and both iPlayer and 4OD online are resolutely refusing to load. And, hey, I quite like a good list occasionally. So, here we are: a few of my Childhood Favourites, a theme shamelessly lifted from The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesdays. (Yes, I know it isn’t Tuesday.)

  1. The Lord of the Rings – J.R.R. Tolkien. I’m pretty sure from the fact that this is at the top of my list that I was a very strange child.
  2. The Northern Lights – Philip Pullman. I almost certainly didn’t understand all of it, but I loved the idea of the daemons (mine would be a cat, by the way) and the gyptians and the witches and the magic. Also Lyra is an amazing character.
  3. Horrible Histories – Terry Deary. Every trip to the library involved at least one of these, because they were hilarious, frankly.
  4. Artemis Fowl – Eoin Colfer. Fairies + Technology + Evil Genius + Brilliant Worldbuilding = Endless Rereads.
  5. Angus, Thongs, and Perfect Snogging – Louise Rennison. This is embarrassing. I was not a particularly discerning reader, and these books made me laugh hysterically. Now they’re just faintly annoying.
  6. The Ring of Bright Water Trilogy – Gavin Maxwell. There are cute otters, and Scottish landscapes, and humour, and did I mention the cute otters?
  7. Read Me A Story, Please – Wendy Cooling. This book has actually disappeared from our house, and nobody has any clue where or how. It had stories five, ten, or fifteen minutes long, sweet little things with Morals of the Story or simply amusing punchlines, and just thinking about it makes me nostalgic.
  8. The BFG – Roald Dahl. It has a nice giant in it. I do remember its being slightly traumatic to a young mind, but that may have been the film rather than the book.
  9. The Jolly Pocket Postman – Alan Ahlberg. It had letters you could pull out of their envelopes and everything. Postmodernism for young minds.
  10. First Term at Malory Towers – Enid Blyton. I was highly disappointed to learn that real boarding school is nothing like this. The pupils of Malory Towers play pranks on their teachers and worry about the causes of appendicitis and everything turns out fine in the end. Real life is rarely so neat.
Leave a Reply

