A Few of My Favourite Things

“Stories we tell will cast their spell,
Now and for always.”
 

The Lord of the Rings

Unbelievably, it’s that time of year again. To be more specific, it’s that time of year when, suddenly, there’s a brand-new year; the time of year when the cheerfulness of Christmas becomes the back-to-school/work-ness of January. But before that, it’s also time for

The English Student’s Favourite Things of 2013

(Not necessarily things first published, released or aired in 2013, but things I’ve reviewed in 2013.)

  • Book: The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien. I know this is slightly cheating, since I didn’t read it for the first time this year. But I feel like The Silmarillion doesn’t get talked about enough, so it’s nice to give it a bit more airtime. And it is my favourite of the books I’ve reviewed this year.
  • Film: Les Miserables. You can tell how much I enjoyed it from the incoherency of the review. I’m a sucker for a musical, and this one will break your heart. Catchy songs, too.
  • TV episode: Doctor Who: The Rings of Akhaten. Actually, my favourite episode of the Smith Administration (apart from The Day of the Doctor, and that counts as a Film). The closest Doctor Who comes to an official musical, and, as I have noted, I’m a sucker for a musical. In my opinion, it’s the closest Smith has come to being a proper Doctor: dark and tormented and altogether glorious. And the singing!
  • Miscellaneous: (Or: Anything That Does Not Fit In The Other Categories) Noye’s Fludde, for its simple joy. And more singing.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Leave a Reply

