The Thirty Day Book Challenge: Day Twenty-Nine

“Our lives are not our own. We are bound to others, past and present, and by each crime and every kindness, we birth our future.”

David Mitchell

Day Twenty-Nine: A Book Everyone Hated But You Liked

This is a hard one. Mainly because I don’t necessarily read what my friends read, and anyway consensus among them is extremely rare (on average, the University Gang take at least half an hour squabbling over What to Watch before we ever start watching it).

At a push, though, I’d probably go with Cloud Atlas: among the few people I know who’ve read it, or who have started reading it, the consensus seems to be that they couldn’t get past the first section, and I’m tired of telling people “it gets better”. Because I almost always finish books, I don’t think I really noticed the relative stodginess of Ewing’s tale, and anyway…

…it gets better. That’s all, really. Keep reading. There’s so much more to see. The whole world, if you look closely enough.

Leave a Reply

