The Thirty Day Book Challenge: Day Twelve

“Rule of life. If you bother to ask someone’s advice, then bother to listen to it.”

Sophie Kinsella

Day Twelve: A Book You Love But Hate At The Same Time

What? Is that a thing? Really? A book that I love and hate?

Er…

Ummm…

OK, I’m going to go with Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series.

(Don’t judge me.)

See, they’re utterly hilarious, even if they have the literary worth of a peanut, and they always make me laugh, often out loud, which is extremely awkward in a library because everyone turns round and looks at you as if you are mad. (Which, to be fair, is an easy mistake to make.)

But the more I read them the more I realise that their heroine, Becky Bloomwood, is actually rather odious: empty-headed, greedy, self-centred and, well, completely obsessed by shopping. She is not a relatable character, or even a character you would want to emulate. At all. Ever.

Can I just say that this was a patently stupid question. And that I didn’t make it up. (The full list is here, if you’re interested.)

Leave a Reply

