The Thirty Day Book Challenge: Day Ten

“You know what a miracle is. Not what Bakunin said. But another world’s intrusion into this one. Most of the time we coexist peacefully, but when we do touch there’s cataclysm.”

Thomas Pynchon

Day Ten: A Book That Reminds You Of Home

Because that’s not a random question at all.

Er…

I guess it depends what you mean by “home”…

Thomas Pynchon’s Crying of Lot 49 reminds me of university, which kind of feels like home now. Frodo says at one point in The Lord of the Rings that returning to the Shire is like falling asleep again (I’ve always loved that bit), which is exactly how going home – actual home – feels like to me. I’m not saying that I don’t like going there, because, you know, I do miss my family and my cats and my books. But it’s so quiet, and every day is the same: it really is like going to sleep after a long and very tiring working day.

Anyway, The Crying of Lot 49 is a quintessential English student’s novel: heavily ironic, rather confusing, and postmodernist. I love postmodernism, which is a shame because I’m not doing any more of it. It was more or less the first book I read for my course that I really, properly enjoyed, and not just because I was supposed to. So it is a University Book, and will probably always remind me of University.

I’m sorry, this wasn’t a hugely interesting post. But it’s nearly 2AM, and as we all know from How I Met Your Mother, nothing good ever happens after 2AM. So I’ll stop here. Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

